Battling psoriasis with a cup of tea

Published: Tue, April 30, 2013 @ 12:00 a.m. on Vindy.com

Q. Your readers did it again!

I’ve been drinking oolong tea for more than a month now, and the patches of psoriasis have disappeared, along with the flaking.

I still have a couple of areas that need some ointment now and then, but overall I can wear shorts now without being embarrassed about my skin. (My skinny legs are another matter.) Thanks.

A. A study long ago in Japan found that oolong tea was effective in easing treatment-resistant eczema (Archives of Dermatology, January 2001), but we have found no studies of oolong tea for psoriasis.

Several visitors to our website have reported that drinking oolong tea eased their psoriasis. Others have noted that turmeric or cilantro also can be helpful.

Leave a comment